A Walk in Beirut Downtown

Downtown_Beirut

After a long flight from Algeria to Lebanon, I found myself taking my first steps onto the Lebanese soil. Night had fallen, but there were new things to see in every direction. Winding streets lit by signs and headlights, fruit stands, people in many different kinds of dressing, advertisements and street names in Arabic, French, and English. I went to bed thinking that things would seem calmer in the light of the day. 
20140517_154318My first impression of Beirut is best described as a city that is vivid , ancient and yet growing, a city of complimentary contrasts. This city combines both modern lifestyle but yet traditional. The first place we visited in this city was the Beirut Downtown. The walk provided a wonderful overview of how Beirut is, to me, a place of living history. As the guide explained the ancient remains of Roman bath houses, their ruins newly excavated, lied beneath the imposing architecture of old Ottoman offices and government buildings. The oldest functioning Greek Orthodox church in Beirut, the Cathedral of St. George built in the 18th century, was erected near the buildings constructed during the French mandate after WWI. This was combined with the rising up buildings all over the city and signs advertising about new locations. It created an atmosphere of energy that hung over the memories of the past, a sense of a society moving its way to the forefront. During my walk through Beirut’s downtown, my eyes caught the minaret and dome of the 21st century. Moreover, the Hariri mosque resided next to the tall tower of Maronite Catholic church, seeing these religious structures erected serenely within a short distance of one another really warmed my heart.

Downtown is a great site to find anything you want about Beirut. One of the most interesting nightlife grand-hills-nightclubspots in Beirut. You can’t miss this. It’s like a hybrid nightclub-meets-theatre. Starts around 11 and involves live performances jazz, pop and karaoke , through this night I learned that my voice is more or less acceptable. Did you know that the origin of word “karaoke” is Japanese which means an “empty orchestra”? This place was one of the most astonishing breathtaking views I have ever seen.

Leave a comment