A Lebanese in Shenyang

Forget all the ideas and all the stereotypes you have about China. It’s time to indulge in an adventure like no other, a shocking but certainly rewarding one.

The forbidden city - Shenyang

The forbidden city – Shenyang

Live in China and be surrounded by 1.4 billion people who inhabit the country. Then, visit Shenyang, and experience getting pushed by 8 million people who are desperate to cut you in line, spit on the ground, scream, honk, and may crush you when you cross the street. This is one of the facets of life in Shenyang, a city located in the northeast of China where you are greeted by an icy wind piercing the heavily polluted haze.

Chinese people are very curious and excited to meet foreigners. This enthusiasm sometimes gives way to fascination. You are followed, singled out, observed. You even feel like a star when then stop you and ask to take a picture with you. What is more surprising is that, tourist sites, a faithful reflection of Chinese civilization, serve quite often as nap venues.

As in a can of sardines!

As in a can of sardines!

Few Chinese speak English: 10% according to The Economist. But, that does not prevent them from engaging a conversation with strangers or even help them when they need it.

All this is enough to shock a student like me, who studied Chinese for three years and decided to experiment a total immersion in the Chinese culture through a six-month scholarship that I received from the Confucius Institute at the University St. Joseph in Beirut.

I thought I was not going to be as bewildered knowing that I had already experienced a first shock in my life. Born and raised in the United Arab Emirates, I had already had the experience of leaving one country for another, leaving Abu Dhabi to start my university studies in Beirut. My new life in Beirut was difficult at first because I came from a cosmopolitan environment where people are disciplined, the streets are well maintained and all is well “organized”.

A second shock awaited me in Shenyang even though I was mentally ready for anything. However, I quickly coped with the Chinese culture, chaos, food, etc .. Do you want to know how? Find out in my next post. Until then, feel free to share with me any similar experience.

Leave a comment